top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Travis

Single of the week - The battery farm - When the whip goes crack

“ A twisted Tarantino like soundtrack intro explodes to a crushing melee of beautiful noise”.

Manchester gutter snipe punks the battery farm return with a brand-new single that cements them as one of the region’s most vital, intelligent, and innovative alternative punk bands. Don’t be fooled though, this is so much more than a powerful angry noise. The song opens with a tribal drum pattern, jangling guitar, mocking , snarling at times falsetto vocal, sets you up for the storm to be unleashed.

The lyrics and anger are palpable, yet intelligently controlled for maximum impact. Some stand out lines for us ; You have been swallowed whole in a goldfish bowl, like everyone you ever knew, "When the whip goes crack on your bleeding backit won’t be over soon, the song builds, a mocking, ferocious anger propels it to it spine crushing, mind blowing finale, “Nothing ever bothers you, nothing ever bothers you “nothing ever brothers you,while your ghosts gets laid in an empty grave and your lips remain sealed – “It wont be over soon” ?

On this showing, it clear the battery farm story is set for big things, we saw them live first, in a dark basement in Manchester at the peer hat before lockdown deprived us of raw, wonderful live music. On that night we were struck by the energy, power, and passion in every note. This single is a superb reminder of what we have been missing and a tasty entrée to what’s to come.

A song penned back in 2016, it features the origin of the name of the band “The Battery Farm” . It’s out on blindside records Friday 9th July and you can get a sneak preview on Thursday night 8pm as its featured as single of the week on the A1M records new music show, broadcast from Salford on Indie rocks Radio.

See them live -

July 23rd - Frog and Parrot - Sheffield - Tramlines fringe - RGM

July 30th - Grafton arms MCR (Decco Records) -

Band Photo by the awesome talent Trust a Fox Photography

The A1M records new music show - on indie rocks Radio Tune in 8pm this Thursday for Episode 121. The best in new music from USA, UK, Europe and beyond. 21 Stellar Tunes from amazing new artists. Music #Loud, #Bold, #Beautiful and always #Different - A real genre hopping musical journey, #Indie, #Rock, #Alternative, #Punk #Electronic #RAP, #POP – something for everyone- Were on air at 8pm #UK , 12 Noon #Los Angeles : 2pm #Texas : 3pm #NewYork – Tune in to Indie Rocks UK for all the best in new music – Join us xx Here is the play list - tune in.


1. Trouble Pilgrims – 21st Century Girl

2. WREX – Halfway

3. Chapter and Verse – After Midnight

4. McCrae – How to Start a Fire

5. The Moods – Blessings

6. The Frixion – I cannot play these games.

7. Cult with No Name – Your all You ever needed @colins cuts electronic track of the week.

8. Weller – Shards

9. Cold Comfort – Slow Down

10. Jess Kemp – Don’t you Cry.

11. Shapes – I wont Change (ft Mark Menzies)

12. Ditsea Yella – Roam – from the Generation Blitz compilation album State of bass UK

13. Frauds – Ships (Out on Alcopops records)

14. Sophie Dorsten – Red Skies

15. The Battery Farm – When the Whip Cracks – (A1M records single of the week)

16. Catalysts – Sylvia

17. Who wants the crown – Safe?

18. The Metal Byrds –

19. 3mind Blight - Metamorphosis

20. Pine the Pilcrow - black hills

21. M-40 – Rivals

Featured artists

123 views0 comments


bottom of page